2014 Round Up

10917378_10204467750546586_8778290148918607801_n

Somehow the year has already come and gone, vanished almost as inexplicably as all the Christmas cookies. It was a big year full of a lot of changes but for the most part, very exciting ones.

The notable one for me was getting my job in May- it may have taken me a year of temping and another year awesome (but temporary) contract work, but it feels really good to be settled into somewhere more permanently and have a role that involves more than just doing the same thing over and over again! I got some increased responsibilities in September, which definitely doesn’t correspond with my sudden drop off in blog posts…

On the leisure front, I read 45 books this year. My favorite series I enjoyed were The Wheel of Time series (I’m on the 4th book now) and Stieg Larsson’s The Millennium Triology. Favorite non-fiction books were Elizabeth Esther’s Girl at the End of the World and Chris Hatfield’s An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth.

A new hobby I picked up in 2014 was a liking of board games. My current favorite is 7 Wonders, although I’ve also really enjoyed Smash Up, Carcasonne, Tsuro, Fluxx, and Netrunner. I blame this on one of my new coworkers who really enjoys games and usually brings one in to play during lunch once a week.

IMG_1919

Besides work, trying out new recipes and spending time with friends, I’ve also started volunteering with the youth group at our church. I’m only 6 years out of high school and I already feel way out of touch, but they’re a great group and I’m glad to be getting to know them.

Some plans for 2015 include a new camera and some kind of actual vacation, plus probably a lot more of the usual books and video games. I’ll try to be more regular with my content in the coming year and am looking forward to making The Coffee Spoon an even better place.

Leave a Reply

